Hooray!  It’s my first blog post as co-owner of The Foundrie!  Shelah and I have become so close these past couple of years, and there have been plenty of high fives and compromise along the way.  I couldn’t be happier that we can now officially call ourselves business partners!  And, the new space is everything we could have possibly hoped for.  I won’t reveal too much of the new space yet…..we’re saving that for the big grand opening.  However, I wanted to take this opportunity to give you all a little sneak peak of the amazing barn wood and other reclaimed items that we acquired from my family’s farm.

I guess it’s true what they say: one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.  So, when I got word from my dad that the barn on their farm was dilapidated beyond repair, and he was going to have it torn down, I immediately exclaimed “HALT!”  (Well, perhaps those weren’t my exact words, but you get the drift.)  I knew that there was a place for this perfectly weather wood somewhere in my life.  Although this was well before a new space and a partnership in the Foundrie was talked about, I was able to convince my dad to hold off on the demolition.

Once a new location for The Foundrie was decided on, it was a no brainer that the barn wood was going in this space.  So, we called upon the help of our good friends Mike and Courtney Turney to assist in the removal of the wood.  Luckily they accept payment in the form of homemade apple pie and pony rides!   A few trips down to the farm revealed not only amazing weathered wood, but we also found beautifully rusted tin roofing and vintage farmhouse doors, windows and gutters.  Our minds were racing with ideas on how to incorporate this awesomeness into the store.

It’s taken a few weeks, but with the help of our husbands, family, and friends, Shelah and I have finally whipped the new space into shape.  So pumped for you all to see it!

