I was feeling crafty last week and decided I would make some feather garlands to hang in the front of the shop. Only problem was I didn’t have any actual feathers on hand. So I decided to make my own.

I found a couple of feather templates online and set to work crafting feathers out of tissue paper. I used spray adhesive to stick two sheets of tissue paper together with pieces of twine running the length of the paper. Then I traced my feathers onto the paper using the string for the vane (Scientifically called the rachis in case you were wondering. Thanks google and wikipedia.) and then cut them out of the sheet leaving a bit of string at the end of the feather.

Then you are ready to use your scissors to cut slits at an angle all the way up and down each side of the feather. The closer together the slits, the more realistic the feather will look. I tied my feathers to a length of fishing line so they appear to be floating in the air but they could be cute on twine or ribbon as well. You will have to wait for my next post to see the garlands hung since I took a bunch of photos around the store showing off new merchandise, new displays, and our amazing new sign out front.

And of course I stuck with a neutral color palette for my garlands but you could do them in any color you like. A fun bright feather garland for a birthday party would be adorable. If you decide to try your hand at tissue paper feather garlands, send me the link. I would love to see pics!

