Next time you feel that you are in a deep fashion rut, please do me a favor and take a look at Hel Looks.  Hel Looks is a collection of photos featuring selected street styles from Helsinki, the capital of Finland. The pictures are taken in Helsinki from July 2005 onwards as an ongoing project by Liisa Jokinen and Sampo Karjalainen.

I am pretty sure I am mostly of German descent but these, these are my people. Layers, layers, layers. And so many of their garments are either self-made, thrifted or found on “the street”. Like literally. They found that pair of jeans in a back alley and now they are rocking them with that self-made tunic and thrift store coat. And looking fierce. I love the individuality and lack of concern over what others may think of their choices in fashion. The looks I featured above are quite tame in comparison to some other featured outfits. Check it out. I dare you to not be inspired.

