Party photos by Robin Frisella

“It could be worse” banner via http://foresting.tumblr.com/

So I had the best of intentions in regards to Stella’s birthday party this year. It was an asian theme complete with teryaki skewers, fried rice, crab rangoon, fortune cookies, and cupcakes.  However, I totally dropped the ball in regards to crafts. You may remember that last year we had a garden gnome theme complete with make and take terrariums and muslin tote bags with totally cute graphics of mushrooms, flowers and gnomes. This years “craft” consisted of the kids filling chinese take out containers with handfuls of candy. And that was about it. I don’t know if it was the heat or the busy weekend but I just didn’t get around to the make and take paper lanterns or plant your own bamboo stalk which I was super excited about in the beginning. Maybe I should blame it all on my friend Nicole who couldn’t actually make it to the party since she was actually in China at the time. I just couldn’t compete. Yeah, that is totally it. Ha, ha. Luckily, our amazing photographer Robin Frisella was there to capture Stella’s birthday fun for the 3rd year in row. Her pictures are great and actually make the theme and party look organized and cohesive. Thanks Robin, you are the best!  

And of course a big thank you to all the family and friends who came out in the heat and humidity to celebrate with us. Really that’s what the party is all about and silly me, I tend to get caught up in all the little details that are forgotten by the time the last cupcake is devoured. I just can’t help myself and I am vowing to do better next year. Just to prove to myself that I still have it in me.

